The history of the Flax museum begins in the 1960s. The flax industry was the most important economic activity in the south of West-Flanders. However, when this sector experienced a major crisis, Bert Dewilde realised that this local tale would be lost. That is why he started collecting work tools. Together with some enthusiastic volunteers and supported by companies, he worked out various educational and original exhibitions. In 1982, the National Flax museum opened for the general public.
Thanks to many spontaneous gifts to the museum, Bert and Annick Dewilde got the idea of opening a second wing on finished flax products. The Lace and Linen museum opened in 1998. The help of many volunteers, schools and sponsors was crucial for the role the museum played in the region. The Flax museum was renowned for its realistic scenes, its horse, its nice collection of lace and, naturally, its enthusiastic demonstrators. The museum scooped many awards including the label of renowned regional museum, the international prize for car tourism and the visits of famous heads of state.
Under the leadership of Lies Buyse, the museum has been re-profiled thoroughly since 2009 and relocated to a meaningful location: a flax distribution centre from the year 1912 in the centre of the city of Kortrijk. After being closed for two years, the museum reopened its doors in 2014 and was named Texture, museum of flax and river Lys. This added a new chapter to an already interesting story. In this modern museum building, young and old can now discover the valuable collections of flax and textiles presented in a totally new concept.