#1 GHOSTS AT THE TABLE

EXCLUSIVE DAMASK TABLECLOTH

Design: WIM OPBROUCK
Production: VERILIN, Heule

Through his mother’s family, Wim Opbrouck descends from the famous Decavele flax family. He lives in a renovated flax hangar and his garden still has a retting pit. He was instantly motivated to design an exclusive damask tablecloth for Texture. Kortrijk has been a global centre of expensive snow white linen damasks since the 16th century. Texture has a world famous collection with many historical and figured napkins and tablecloths. A damask tablecloth was often manufactured for celebrations.

Wim says it is “fantastic that people still make the effort and take the time to immerse themselves in the skills of weaving correctly, in finishing the edges perfectly, in embroidering small details. Even though it is an old craft, it is also very contemporary." Trendy chefs such as Sergio Herman, for example, visit Verilin to spend an entire morning hunting for the perfect table linen, finding out which texture matches the interior of the restaurant or their dishes best, and so on.

11 GHOSTS AT THE TABLE

The design consists of 11 different personalities, or table guests, who engage in a dialogue with each other. At every feast the 11 ‘guests’ sit at the table. They tell tales going back to the 16th century, because even back then flax was processed in the Kortrijk area. The heads of these ‘table ghosts’, however, can only be seen in a particular light. Apparently, they are seen clearest in candle light.

82 NUMBERED PIECES

The exclusive tablecloths in Kortrijk damask linen could only be purchased at the occasion of the reopening of Texture in a limited, numbered edition of 82 pieces (referring to 1982, the founding year of the Flax museum). The cloths were made of 100% Belgian linen, measure 170 x 300 cm, jacquard woven and contained a unique edition number in red embroidery. Related napkins were available upon request, other sizes could be requested as well.

For sale in the shop. Price: € 240. SOLD OUT entirely!

#1 Tafelgeesten (esprits de table)

Nappe exclusive en damas

Projet : Wim Opbrouck
Production : Verilin, Heule

Du côté maternel, Wim Opbrouck descend de la célèbre famille linière Decavele. Il vit dans un ancien dépôt de lin et il y a encore un rouissoir dans son jardin. Il était immédiatement prêt à créer une nappe exclusive en damas pour Texture. Depuis le 16e siècle, Courtrai était un centre mondial des précieux damas blancs comme neige. Texture possède une collection mondialement connue comprenant de nombreuses serviettes et nappes historiques et figurées. Un damas fut souvent tissé à l’occasion d’un événement festif.

Wim trouve que c’est « fantastique que des gens veulent encore prendre la peine et le temps pour maîtriser  la bonne méthode de tisser, la finition parfaite des bords, les petits détails brochés. C’est un artisanat à la fois très ancien et très contemporain. » Des chefs cuisiniers en vogue tels que Sergio Herman visitent Verilin pour y passer toute une matinée à chercher le linge de table parfait, la texture qui s’accorde le mieux avec l’intérieur du restaurant ou avec leurs plats.

11 esprits de table

Le projet se compose de 11 personnages différents – convives – en train de dialoguer. À chaque repas de fête, les 11 ‘hôtes’ sont également attablés. Ils recèlent des histoires remontant jusqu’au 16e siècle, car à cette époque, on travailla déjà le lin dans la région de Courtrai. Ce sont les « esprits de table » dont on peut uniquement voir les têtes sous une lumière spécifique. La lumière de bougies serait, à ce que l’on dit, la meilleure lumière pour voir apparaître les têtes.

82 pièces numérotées

La nappe exclusive en linge damassé de Courtrai est en vente à l’occasion de la réouverture de Texture, dans un tirage limité et numéroté de 82 pièces (renvoyant à l’année 1982, l’année de fondation du Musée du Lin). Lin 100% belge, 170 x 300 cm, jacquard, avec numéro de tirage unique en broderie rouge. Serviettes assorties sur demande, d’autres dimensions sont également possibles.

En vente dans la boutique. Prix : € 240. STOCK épuisé !