#2 Pigeon Service

Design: CHRISTIEN MEINDERTSMA
Production: SECRETS OF LINEN (JOS VANNESTE), Harelbeke

Dutch designer Christien Meindertsma created a permanent installation for Texture with approximately 200 tufted pigeons which are spread all over Texture. She was inspired by the messenger and espionage pigeons that used to be locked up in the building of the Linen Thread Company (the very same building that is now called Texture) during World War I. For this project, she worked together with the family company Jos Vanneste which produces flax rugs named Secrets of Linen.

Each pigeon's plumage is made up of different types of linen. By applying the tufting technique in multiple ways, different features of the linen, such as colour and gloss, can be seen. Each bird is an experiment with various pile heights and is cut or uncut to imitate the plumage as effectively as possible. Thus, all the pigeons demonstrate beautiful samples of yarn types and tufting possibilities.

VOLUNTEERS

Every pigeon is made out of one piece. Mechanical sewing was impossible. Many skilled volunteers, including the ladies from the lace workshop in Kortrijk, sewed the pigeons perfectly together. The inside of the pigeons also refers to the flax: the filling is 100 % linseed. The sewing sessions took place at the raBarber summer bar on Overleie and at the Kortrijk Heritage.

MESSENGER PIGEON, ESPIONAGE PIGEON AND THE TRAVELLING FLAX FIBRES

The linen messenger and espionage pigeons refer to the historical story of the pigeons that stayed in the building as well as to the story of the journey of the flax fibres. The building itself was previously part of the flax route and the manufacturer of the tufted rugs and yarns, Jos Vanneste, plays an important role in today’s flax route. Each pigeon's plumage will show more information about how many kilometers the pigeon (read: the flax fibre) has travelled. One yarn has made a route from Normandy to China and back, for example, another remained closer and was harvested and processed in Belgium. One pigeon has travelled 300 km, while another flew 3000 km... The different flax yarns from spinning mills around the world tell us about the current market of producers in a globalized world.

PIGEON AS A SOUVENIR

In the museum shop, beautiful woven versions of the messenger and espionage pigeons can be purchased. The pigeon is also complemented with an envelope for you to send a secret message. It is an interesting and beautiful souvenir from your visit to Texture. The linen originates from five different regional flax weaving mills.

For sale in the shop: € 40

#2 Pigeon Service

Projet : Christien Meindertsma
Production : Secrets of Linen (Jos Vanneste), Harelbeke

La créatrice néerlandaise Christien Meindertsma créa pour Texture une installation permanente d’env. 200 pigeons tuftés, dispersés partout dans le musée. Elle s’inspira des pigeons voyageurs et d’espionnage qui, pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, étaient enfermés dans les bâtiments de la Linen Thread Company, abritant aujourd’hui Texture. Elle travailla pour l’entreprise familiale Jos Vanneste qui produit des tapis de lin sous le nom de Secrets of Linen.

Le plumage de chaque pigeon se compose d’une autre sorte de fils de lin. En appliquant la technique du tuftage de différentes façons, elle révèle différentes caractéristiques du lin – telles que la couleur et la brillance. Chaque oiseau est une expérience avec différentes hauteurs de poils, coupés et non-coupés, pour imiter son plumage de manière aussi réaliste que possible. Tous les pigeons ensemble représentent toute la richesse des différentes sortes de fil et des possibilités du tuftage.

Mains bénévoles

Chaque pigeon est fabriqué en 1 pièce et il était impossible de les coudre machinalement. De nombreuses mains compétentes et bénévoles, notamment des femmes de l’atelier de dentelle courtraisien, ont soigneusement cousu tous les pigeons. L’intérieur des pigeons est d’ailleurs aussi une référence au lin : le bourrage se compose à 100% de graines de lin. Les séances de couture eurent lieu au bar estival raBarber dans le quartier Overleie et dans la Maison du patrimoine.

Pigeon voyageur, pigeon d’espionnage et fibres de lin voyageuses

Les pigeons voyageurs et d’espionnage en lin racontent non seulement le récit historique des pigeons voyageurs qui vivaient dans le bâtiment, mais également le récit du voyage des fibres de lin. À l’époque, le bâtiment même se trouvait sur la route du lin et aujourd’hui, le fabricant des carpettes tuftées et des fils – Jos Vanneste – joue un rôle important dans la route actuelle du lin. Chaque pigeon s’accompagne d’informations sur le nombre de kilomètres que le pigeon (c’est-à-dire : le fibre de lin) a ‘dans les ailes’. Certains fils ont, par exemple, fait un aller-retour entre la Normandie et la Chine, d’autres sont restés plus près et ont été cultivés et travaillés en Belgique. Alors qu’un pigeon a parcouru 300 km, un autre en a fait 3000... Les différents fils de lin provenant de filatures du monde entier nous apprennent davantage sur le marché actuel de fabricants dans un monde globalisé.

 

Pigeon comme souvenir

La boutique du musée vend des versions tissées des pigeons voyageurs et d’espionnage en lin. Ils sont accompagnés d’une enveloppe avec un papier pour envoyer vos messages secrets : un joli souvenir de votre visite de Texture. Le lin provient de cinq tissages de lin de la région.

En vente dans la boutique. Prix : € 40